जालंधर देश पंजाब ब्रेकिंग न्यूज़

JALANDHAR, JANAURY 20 (News Hunt)- In order to keep a tab on poll spending by the candidates in their respective constituencies, the Election Commission has appointed three expenditure observers for Jalandhar district.

Giving details in this regard, the Deputy Commissioner Ghanshayam Thori on Thursday said that senior IRS officer Pradeep Kumar Meel had been deputed for Kartarpur, Jalandhar North and Admapur constituencies. Similarly, 2007 batch IRS officer Ayaz Ahmed Kohli has been appointed for Phillaur, Jalandhar Central and Jalandhar Cantt constituencies while 2007 batch IRS officer Satyapal Singh Meena will be expenditure observer for Nakodar, Shahkot and Jalandhar West constituencies. The district administration has also deputed different teams with these observers as liaison officers to facilitate them during the ongoing poll process.

As per directions of the ECI amid present COVID situation, these observers will interact with the concerned authorities and look into the works related to first visit virtually from the day of notifications. The Deputy Commissioner said that the second visit would be physical on the last day of making nominations besides staying in the district to monitor the expenditure related activities in their respective constituencies till the poll day i.e. February 20. Thori said that after arriving these observers would hold a detailed meeting with the district election officer, police officers, Returning officers, nodal officer of income tax department and state excise department officials to take inputs from them on key points. Subsequently, meeting with AEOs and incharge of election expenditure monitoring teams names SST, MCMC, Complaint Monitoring cell etc so that the directions of ECI could be ensured in all constituencies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.