जालंधर देश पंजाब ब्रेकिंग न्यूज़

JALANDHAR, JANUARY 22 (News Hunt)- To facilitate voters in the district, the District Administration has, so far, distributed 66601 Electronic Photo Identity Card besides giving 57302 forms 12-D to voters above 80 years of age and persons with disabilities in all nine constituencies.

Issuing directions to all Returning Officers and nodal officers for different poll purposes, the Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer Ghanshyam Thori during a review meeting asked that all necessary arrangements should be put in place in view of training of polling personnel to be imparted in all nine constituencies. All concerned officers were also instructed to get ready with their District Election Management Plan (DEMP) with timely preparation and printing as the same would be handed over to the observers on their arrival.

Giving breakup of forms distribution to above 80 years of age and PWD voters, the DEO said that as many as 11692 forms had been given to PWD voters in the district. Of these PWD voters, said the DC adding that 1050 forms were distributed in Phillaur constituency, 1095 in Nakodar, 1326 in Shahkot, 1435 Kartarpur, 727 in Jalandhar West, 2163 Jalandhar Central, 1323 in Jalandhar North, 1485 in Jalandhar Cantt and 1088 in Adampur.

A total 45610 forms were supplied in the district to ensure requisite facility for above 80 years age voters. Of these total forms 6304 were given in Phillaur constituency, 4982 in Nakodar, 5100 Shahkot, 4760 Kartarpur, 3546 Jalandhar West, 5261 Jalandhar Central, 4748 Jalandhar North, 6003 Jalandhar Cantt and 4906 in Adampur, said the Deputy Commissioner. The Deputy Commissioner pointed out that these forms would be submitted by the applicant by 29th January so that they could be facilitated with the postal ballot facility at their respective homes.

EPIC distribution, Ghanshyam Thori said that in Phillaur total 7095 cards were distributed in November & December, Nakodar 7582, Shahkot 6994 and Kartarpur 9114. Similarly, 7041 cards were given away in Jalandhar West constituency while 6628 in Jalandhar Central, 7330 in Jalandhar North, 8340 in Jalandhar Cantt and 5977 in Adampur constituency.

The Deputy Commissione also directed the officers/officials to ensure strict compliance of Model Code of Conduct as well as the guidelines stipulated by the Election Commission of India during nominations in view of surge in COVID cases.

Prominent amongst those present on the occasion included ADC (D) Jaspreet Singh, ADC (UD) Aashika Jain, ADC (G) Amarjit Bains, all Returning Officers, Election Tehsildar Sukhdev Singh and nodal officers.

SPECIAL VACCINATION CAMPS TO BE HELD AT TRAINING LOCATIONS: Deputy Commissioner Ghanshyam Thori also stated that special vaccination camps would be held at all nine training locations on January 23 i.e. Sunday to facilitate polling personnel with their due second dose and precautionary doses. He said that teams of health department had already been deputed for this purposes at their respective sites so that vaccination of all polling staff could be ensured.


JALANDHAR CENTRAL- Doaba College, Jalandhar

JALANDHAR NORTH- DAVIET College, Kabir Nagar, Jalandhar

JALANDHAR CANTT- Apee Jay School, New Jawahar Nagar, Jalandhar

JALANDAHR WEST- HMV College, Jalandhar

KARTARPUR- Khalsa College, IMT Cantt Road, Jalandhar

ADAMPUR- KMV Sanskriti School, Near Pathankot Chowk

NAKODAR- Guru Nanak National College (Boys), Nakodar

SHAHKOT- Government College

PHILLAUR- Govt. Senior Secondary School (Girls), Phillaur

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.